10 Day Cloud Onboarding

Use-Case web-based collaboration orchestration toolScope initial launch of the production systemIndustryIndustry 4.0 (Hörmann Digital)

Initial Situation

Hörmann Digital is a newly founded company with the primary goal to drive the digital transformation within the Hörmann Group. As a starting point, a small, highly motivated and rather inexperienced team has been set up to develop and launch the first application. The target platform is the AWS cloud where an account is already in place. However, without any in-depth knowledge about building on AWS, the entire stack including the database is deployed in a Docker environment hosted on a single EC2 instance, effectively using the cloud like a single on-premise instance. Best-practices such as data encryption or backups have not yet been considered. The team is eager to learn more about the benefits of cloud-native development and use that knowledge to build up a solid foundation for the application and its delivery pipeline.

Solution Approach

Technical Excellence
AWS, infrastructure-as-code, scalable architecture
The LESS mindset
Mindset
mentoring, enablement, achieving as much as possible in a fixed timeframe

Instead of just setting up a suitable architecture we decided to work closely with the team with the primary goal to enable them to do future work on their own in mind. Over the span of 2 months we spent 10 days with the team in order to teach basic concepts, support with the biggest challenges, and collaboratively launch the application to production. We used pair and mob programming for everything we did and made sure all team members understand the rationale behind the different good practices we applied.

After jointly analysing the status quo, we proposed a first version of the target architecture to implement. First of all, we put it together manually with a few shortcuts to demonstrate different involved AWS services and their integration. In this exploratory phase we could already identify a few major challenges such as the inability of the application to run more than one instance with consistent state. While iteratively refining and documenting the desired architecture we continued with the introduction of Cloud Formation to make sure everything we did was clearly documented, reproducible, and versioned. The backend runs in Docker containers deployed on Fargate and provides REST endpoints to the frontend which is served from S3 via CloudFront. The application is backed by a multi-AZ RDS database and can scale with increasing load. The entire build and deployment process is automated using CodePipeline and related AWS services.

Besides a successful launch, the most important outcome of our collaboration is the rapid increase of knowledge and experience among the development team members. Since our support was limited to one or two days per week, they already learned how to apply this knowledge and overcome difficulties on their own. Nevertheless, we focused on removing bigger impediments that would have flattened the learning curve and decreased motivation otherwise.

Discussing examples and receiving guidance on real life situations made the AWS concepts easy to digest. I highly recommend Sekib Omazic as a Solution Architect.
Vladimir Markovski, Scrum Master Hörmann Digital

10 Day Cloud Onboarding

Use-Case Web-Kollaborations-ToolScope Initialer Launch des ProduktivsystemsBrancheIndustrie 4.0 (Hörmann Digital)

Ausgangslage

Hörmann Digital ist eine neu gegründete Firma mit dem Ziel die digitale Transformation innerhalb der gesamten Hörmann Gruppe zu treiben. Als Startpunkt wurde ein kleines, hochmotiviertes und recht unerfahrenes Team aufgebaut um die erste Applikation zu entwickeln und zu launchen. AWS ist als Zielplattform gesetzt und ein Account steht dem Team zur Verfügung. Allerdings befindet sich mangels tieferer Kenntnisse mit AWS die komplette Applikation inklusive Datenbank in einer Docker-Umgebung auf einer einzigen EC2-Instanz - letztendlich wird die Cloud wie ein einzelner On-Premise-Server genutzt. Best Practices wie Verschlüsselung oder Backupgs wurden bisher nicht berücksichtigt. Das Team möchte mehr über die Vorteile von echter Cloud-Entwicklung lernen und dieses Wissen anwenden um eine solide Grundlage für die Applikation und ihre Auslieferung zu legen.

Lösungsansatz

Technische Exzellenz
AWS, Infrastructure-as-Code, skalierbare Architektur
The LESS mindset
Mindset
Mentoring, Enablement, maximales Ergebnis in begrenzter Zeit

Anstatt einfach nur eine geeignete Architektur aufzusetzen haben wir uns entschieden eng mit dem Team zu arbeiten um so das Hauptziel, die Kollegen selbst für die Zukunft zu rüsten, zu erreichen. Über 2 Monate hinweg haben wir insgesamt 10 Tage mit dem Team verbracht um grundlegende Konzepte zu vermitteln, bei den größten Herausforderungen zu unterstützen, und gemeinsame den Live-Gang zu meistern. Bei allen Aktivitäten haben wir Pair und Mob Programming eingesetzt um sicherzustellen, dass das Team alle eingesetzten Tools und Praktiken einordnen kann.

Nach der gemeinsamen Analyse des Status Quo haben wir einen ersten Vorschlag für die Zielarchitektur ausgearbeitet. Zunächst haben wir diesen manuell mit einigen Abkürzungen umgesetzt um die verschiedenen AWS Services und ihr Zusammenspiel zu demonstrieren. In dieser explorativen Phase konnten wir bereits die ersten Hürden identifizieren. Beispielsweise war die Applikation noch nicht dazu geeignet konsistent auf mehreren Instanzen parallel zu laufen. Anschließend haben wir mit CloudFormation die gesamte Infrastruktur reproduzierbar aufgebaut und dabei die gewünschte Architektur kontinuierlich verfeinert und dokumentiert. Das Backend läuft in Docker Containern auf AWS Fargate und stellt REST-Endpunkte für das über S3 und CloudFront ausgelieferte Frontend bereit. Für die Persistenz kommt eine Multi-AZ RDS Datenbank zum Einsatz. Die Applikation kann mit steigender Last automatisch skalieren und die gesamte Build- und Deploymentstrecke ist mithilfe von CodePipeline automatisiert.

Neben dem erfolgreichen Launch ist das wichtigste Ergebnis unserer Zusammenarbeit, dass innerhalb des Teams sehr schnell Wissen und Erfahrung aufgebaut wurde. Da unsere Unterstützung auf maximal 2 Tage pro Woche begrenzt war konnten die Kollegen immer wieder alleine Probleme lösen und neues Wissen praktisch anwenden und vertiefen. Wir haben uns darauf fokussiert größere Fallstricke zu entfernen um eine steile Lernkurve und hohe Motivation zu ermöglichen.

Discussing examples and receiving guidance on real life situations made the AWS concepts easy to digest. I highly recommend Sekib Omazic as a Solution Architect.
Vladimir Markovski, Scrum Master Hörmann Digital